Posted by: kbater | March 5, 2014

The Orenda – Wab Kinew explains the context of torture

I read the Orenda by Joseph Boyden last month and was stunned by the writing, the story, and the torture in it.  I have been trying to put meaning to it for a while and this video of Wab Kinew debating with Stephen Lewis on Canada Reads with host Jian Ghomeshi helps me gain a new perspective on the torture.  I don’t want to be stuck in my cultural context and I don’t know how to put torture in a different light so listen as Wab talks to us from another perspective.

http://www.cbc.ca/player/Shows/Shows/Canada%2BReads/Canada%2BReads%2B2014/ID/2440240230/

Responses

  1. Kim Another fine read The Art of Hearing Heartbeats it moved mine. Brian

    Sent from Brian’s iPhone

    >

  2. Hi Kim….I found that give & take between those 2 guys ,fascinating…It certainly helped me to have their understanding of torture much better .My first reaction is ,does that help improve anything now…ssurely we do not need to move into that PAST understanding today to improve their situation…Dad.


Leave a Reply

Categories

