Posted by: kbater | August 29, 2013

What I did on my summer Vacation

Last year I had a staycation. This year I had a couple of wonderful adventures. In July I went to the Yukon for the 1st time and spent 2 days with an old friend who has lived off-grid near Whitehorse for 34 years and I finally made the trek to see her. We worked on a construction project getting the 1st phase of a summer kitchen built. Then I was off to Dawson City for the music fesitval with my good friends and current housemates Colin Funk and Connie Brill and their oldest son Kevin.

Dawson City is amazing in the summer – timeless- in fact I was always asking “what time is it?”. Light almost the whole night and warm and wild. The music was really good and then Colin and I had a great drive home. Liard Hot Springs were amazing – Bison on the road – caribou – artic fox – bears – interesting people. Colin and I listened to Joseph Campbell on the way home and his Hero’s Journey idea sparked my first song in many years.

the perfect description of time in Dawson City in summer

the perfect description of time in Dawson City in summer

a wild performer at the Dawson City Music Festival

a wild performer at the Dawson City Music Festival

Wonderful soothing Liard Hot Springs

100

Rachel Sermanni

Rachel Sermanni

Yes! Yukoners have it right - stop harper

Yes! Yukoners have it right – stop harper

051

In August I hiked into Mt. Assinboine with friends from Saskatchewan. It was amazing – hard work – amazing vistas – wonderful conversation – interesting characters in the cook shack at the Naiset Cabins.

Batman is everywhere

Batman is everywhere

039 088

I’m back to work now but the adventures have fed me and I feel alive to answer the call…what did you do on your summer vactation?

Leave a Reply

Categories

